E’s top albums of 2009 – the final chapter

May 18, 2010

I’ve been preoccupied this last week with moving to Southern California.  Rest assured, my distance from the crew will not diminish my posting (Steve inserts joke here about how little I posted when I was living up North).  This particular post marks the final few albums in my countdown of the top albums from 2009.  As I have previously stated, the presentation of these 17 albums has been in no particular order, hence you should not necessarily assume that the albums to follow are my favorites from last year, but certainly in the top 17.

I’ll start things off with a group I became aware of after reading some little bit in Spin magazine about the impending release of this album, and Spin came clutch for me.  The world certainly agreed, as two singles from this album (the two I’ll rep today) were huge hits on the charts.  From the album Lungs, Florence and the Machine – You’ve Got The Love.  Enjoy….

This next one wasn’t quite as popular as the former, nor did it get the crazy buzz garnered by “Dog Days Are Over” (which I almost included but decided last minute that it’s almost overplayed at this point).  Florence and the Machine  – Kiss With A Fist.  Enjoy….

Next up, this odd little experimental rock crew from Brooklyn.  This was another rather random find for me, but another gem nonetheless.  This is a group that takes on a very special and unique sound that was a bit jarring at first but became quickly inviting.  Ed Droste from the band Grizzly Bear (also big-upped for having a top album of ’09) so eloquently put it:

Someone was asking me about what I was listening to and I was saying “Oh, Dirty Projectors, I love the new album,” and they were like, “Well what kind of music is it?” and I just stopped dead in my tracks and literally didn’t know how to describe it. At first I was embarrassed because I didn’t know how to describe it, but then I was like, this is what’s so amazing about a lot of music now. There are so many different things and there’s so much going on and Bitte Orca is so distinctly Dirty Projectors that I didn’t even know how to begin to describe what genre it is, you know? What would one categorize it as? So I find it hard lately to label things as indie or pop or folk or give it some sort of categorization.

From their first album on a new label (Domino) entitled Bitte Orca, Dirty Projectors – Cannibal Resource.  Enjoy….

One more because I think these fools are really fun.  Great acoustic guitar work here.  Dirty Projectors – Temecula Surprise.  Enjoy….

One more and we’ll call it a done deal for 2009.  I figured, fitting well with the musical tastes of the rest of the crew, it would be fitting to sum things up with some hip-hop.

I had a tough time picking a last hip-hop album.  Ultimately I’ve chosen Jay-Z’s Blueprint vol. 3 because there are just too many hot tracks to handle.  I’ll leave you with this simple, great track: Jay Z ft. Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind.  Enjoy….

One Response to “E’s top albums of 2009 – the final chapter”

  1. Ronin Storm said

    Woo-Hoo Alicia Keys!!!
    You know thats my JAMM E.

Leave a Reply

