E’s top albums of 2009 – part 5

May 6, 2010

I took a day off from my repping of the  top albums of 2009 (It seemed fitting since I’m at about the halfway point) but I’m back to finish off the last 9 albums over the course of the next few days.  First up today is one of my top 5 albums from last year.  This will be a slight departure from the genres I’ve been repping thus far on this segment.  This LA based punk rock band (which I actually only kinda like) “The Bronx” decided to take a new direction (or, perhaps, better described as a “side project”) in 2009 by transforming themselves into a Mariachi band.  The result: Briliance.  As “El Bronx,” these guys seriously rock out.  Their album Mariachi El Bronx is a must grab.

The song “Silver or Lead” is one of my favorites, but I won’t be including it here today because it has been my ringtone for the last few months so I hear it too much as it is.  Instead I’ll be dropping a couple other very choice tracks.  First up: El Bronx – Cell Mates.  Enjoy….

This next one is another of my favorites and I found a pretty cool acoustic, live version that puts a fun little spin on the song.  El Bronx – Slave Labor.  Enjoy…

Just for fun I’ve got one more pretty cool little jam which wasn’t on the album Mariachi El Bronx but was the first song released (on a Prince covers compilation disc) by the new persona, El Bronx.  I thought this was pretty sweet.  El Bronx – I Would Die 4 U.  Enjoy….

Now, to switch gears a bit, I’ll recommend this hot debut album from British electronic (or maybe electro-rock?) duo The Big Pink.  I think I read a short piece in Spin Magazine about this album before it was released in September of last year.  I made note of it, gave it a listen, and was not disappointed in the slightest.  The album seems to strike a balance between a fun, energetic side and a deep, dark  heaviness that gives it a really unique feel.  I used the song “Dominos” as my song of the day at the end of 2009, so I won’t repeat again here.  Try this one out.  From the album A Brief History of Love, The Big Pink – Too Young To Love.  Enjoy….

Leave a Reply

