E’s top albums of 2009 – part 3

May 3, 2010

I got a very late jump on this post because I’ve been attempting to distract myself from the pain that was the Jazz loss to the Lakers earlier today (yesterday, technically at this point).  Again I’ll be repping some hip hop to start things off.

This album is one that I really just fell into randomly right when it was first released; just one of those lucky grabs.  It’s a collaboration between North and South American artists, mostly hip hop and electronic music.  The collaborative project makes this feel like more of a compilation than a standard band’s album, but it was certainly one of my favorites from last year.  I’ll throw a couple of tracks your way to give you a sense of the ill ish of which I speak.  From the album The Spirit of Apollo, N.A.S.A. ft. Tom Waits and Kool Keith – Spacious Thoughts.  Enjoy…

I’ll throw one more your way, but seriously, these collabs are all fresh.  Please do yourself a favor and check out the album.  N.A.S.A. ft. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge and Z-Trip – Money.  Enjoy….

This next group is from the bay area (San Francisco, actually) and while Steve would call them “hipster” I believe the more commonly used terminology is “indie rock.”  As far as that genre goes, I quite enjoyed this group’s (The band is named Girls) entire debut album (appropriately labeled Album).  I’ll just drop one your way today but will also suggest you seriously check out the full album.  It’s got a very relaxed feel to it that makes the album an easy listen over and over.  Girls – Laura.  Enjoy… (also, if you’re looking for a couple more songs to sample before deciding to grab the full album, check out “Hellhole Ratrace,” “Lauren Marie,” “Darling,” and/or “Headache.”

Leave a Reply

