E’s top albums of 2009

April 30, 2010

In lieu of a song of the day today, I thought I might finally come good on a promise I made months ago to hit you off with a listing of my favorite albums of 2009.  I won’t be ordering them in some sort of ranking system, but I will try to spread the love between genres so that, hopefully, I”m repping a little something for everyone.  Over the next several days I’ll big-up a couple of albums and play at least one track from each of them.  In total, I’ll be suggesting 17 albums that came out at some point in 2009.  We’ll kick things off with one of the best hip hop albums of ’09.  Wu Tang Clan member Raekwon doesn’t usually disappoint, but his 2009 album Built For Cuban Linx Part 2 was truly something special.

Fierce beats throughout, often reminiscent of some classic Wu ish, and the kind of lyrical gamesmanship we’ve come to expect from Raekwon (as well as a multiplicity of guest appearances from Wu members et al) make this a must-grab from last year.  Here’s one of my fave’s from the album: Raekwon ft. RZA and Inspectah Deck – Black Mozart.  Enjoy….

Just so you know I’m serious about how hot this album is, I’ll hit you off with one more.  This may be the best hip hop album of last year.  Seriously.  Raekwon ft. Ghostface Killah – Cold Outside.

And now for something completely different…I’ve repped the artist Panda Bear on my song of the day segment (his song “Comfy in Nautica” was part of my wake-up routine for a few months – very chill and inviting).  He is one member of a larger crew known as Animal Collective.  Their 2009 album Merriweather Post Pavillion was well worth a listen for any experimental/indie rock fans.  These Baltimore natives have an eclectic sound that provides a nice change of pace for the open minded music afficionado.  I’ve certainly enjoyed several repeat listens of this album.  But don’t take my word for it, have a listen for yourself.  Animal Collective – My Girls.  Enjoy….

If that sample size was insufficient, might I also recommend these jams also off that album: Bluish, Taste, In The Flowers, and Daily Routine.  Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

