E’s song of the day

April 8, 2010

I missed yesterday and am only getting in a jam today while I break from what has been a grueling 2 days of intensive work out in my dad’s back yard.  I recently acquired the 2006 album “Shine Through” by Aloe Blacc and I can’t get enough of it.  Seriously folks, if you’ve liked ANYTHING that I’ve posted in this segment, you NEED to check this fool out (Steve and Ronin, don’t worry, I got you).  It’s a little soul, a bit R&B and a touch of hip-hop sometimes infused with a hint of  latin flavor.  I haven’t been this excited about an artist in this genre since John Legend burst onto the scene (in fact, Blacc covers a Legend track but sings it in Spanish).  He has a newer collaborative album out with Japanese producer Cradle (together they call themselves “Bee”) entitled “Open Your Mind.”  Oh, did I mention that he went to my alma mater, the University of Southern California (Fight On!)?  In fact, he has a pretty good track ripping off of Biz Markie’s “Just A Friend” entitled “I Love USC (and I hate UCLA).”  I’ll spare Ronin and just give you the link to that track here.    The song I’ve chosen for today is actually one that I know Ronin can get behind.  Besides having some fresh older stuff, Blacc also sings the title track for the new HBO show that I’ve been repping entitled “How to Make it in America.”  Today’s jam: Aloe Blacc – I Need a Dollar.  Enjoy….

Leave a Reply

