Two Dope Brothers Present: Me and My Girlfriend, why Jay-Z is a punk @$$ buster for stealing from Tupac

March 13, 2010

This is truly the shit that got me mad.

Gotta look good for my girl....

It is worth noting that rapper Young Noble, who appeared on several songs on The 7 Day Theory, stated in an interview that the Nas song “I Gave You Power” served as a main inspiration for Shakur’s “Me and My Girlfriend.”[8] Long time friend and producer Shock G recounted: and in the “Intro/Bomb First (My Second Reply)” the first 3 seconds Shakur states “Shoulda shot me,” which has been incorrectly reiterated by a certain portion of the hip hop population as “Suge shot me,” due to the low volume of the voice.

Now, the reason why Jay is lower in my book is that he didn’t just sample, he straight jcaked Tupac’s song.  You know Tupac would have had a hot diss track to Jay stealing his shine.  If Tupac is alive, I don’t think that this song is made, because I don’t think that he would have had the balls to steal from a living legend.

’03 Bonnie & Clyde” is a song by Jay-Z featuring R&B singer Beyoncé. It incorporates elements from the songs “Me and My Girlfriend” by 2Pac, and “If I Was Your Girlfriend” by Prince. “’03 Bonnie & Clyde” has lyrics written by Jay-Z and was produced by Kanye West for Jay-Z’s seventh studio album The Blueprint²: The Gift & the Curse.[1] It can also be found on the international editions of Beyoncé’s solo debut album Dangerously in Love.

Released in 2002, the single reached number 4 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, becoming Jay-Z’s second top ten single and Beyoncé’s first top ten single as a solo artist. It also reached number two in the UK, where it featured an album cover distinct from the U.S. cover.

The song caused conflict between Jay-Z and Toni Braxton when Braxton claimed that the song copied her use of “Me and My Girlfriend.”[2]

This was Jay’s way of showcasing Beyonce as a solo artist, so I guess that has some merit, but the tenor of the song is about thugging and the love of guns.  While you can argue that Jay is providing a literal interpretation of the song and of Bonnie and Clyde, it was wrong to jack the beat.  You can make the song, but have a different beat, and this is not an issue.  But, I bet the song is not as hot either…

2 Responses to “Two Dope Brothers Present: Me and My Girlfriend, why Jay-Z is a punk @$$ buster for stealing from Tupac”

  1. tophatal said

    Rappers have been jackin’ from their peers and predecessors. So what’s new ? It’s not as if this hasn’t been known to happen before .

    There’s no use crying over spilled milk. But then I guess when there’s real lack of ingenuity and innovation in genre that’s what you tend to get.

    Alan Parkins

  2. Ronin Storm said

    Never noticed the mural of Tupac at 2:08 in the B&C video.

Leave a Reply

