Teddy Pendergrass dies at 59…What is happening to our musical legends and icons?

January 15, 2010

One of a few dudes that can make rocking a scarf look cool

We are not getting off on the right foot for 2010.  Teddy Pendergass dies at age 59 yesterday.  On the way home from practice, I knew something was up when I heard a constant stream of his music on Sirius satellite.    Teddy was some of my go-to music for when I was rounding third and coming home with a female.

Close the Door

Love T.K.O.

Come go with me… The Video is bootsy in the beginning, but you can see the soul in the man after the first 15 seconds

Words really can’t express the feelings when I think about the loss of culture that recently has befallen us.  Teddy is in that same discussion as Marvin Gaye

Sexual Healing

Issac Hayes, MJ of course, Barry White and Luther Vandross.  That is a category that some of the new R&B New Jack Swing dudes will never have.  This is not an attempt to knock their hustle or their music, but the songs of today do not seem to have the staying power that the past generation has.  There are some new dudes that I like and have been in my playlist, like Case and Missing You.  Chances are, you have no idea who this guy is, since after his first CD, he faded away some

Glenn Lewis Don’t you Forget it

Carl Thomas I Wish

This was my rotation of the 90’s.  But they didn’t have the same staying power like the above group that I grew up with.

People will remember Teddy for the accident that paralyzed him, since he had a transvestite in the car with him.  But, I will only remember you for the music that could transform a setting and take me to a place that was pure ecstasy, and it was a drug-free one.

R.I.P. Teddy and one day hopefully I will get to see you and the others perform again

2 Responses to “Teddy Pendergrass dies at 59…What is happening to our musical legends and icons?”

  1. Maliki said

    rest in power Teddy Pendergrass.
    that man had SOUL!

  2. Steve said

    Soul that we might not see in a LONG TIME

Leave a Reply

