FACEBOOK proves Rodney Bradford is INNOCENT…I guess FACEBOOK isn’t totally worthless…

November 12, 2009

Most of you already know how I feel about Facebook.  It is a colossal waste of time and leads to some of the worst conversation in history. I don’t really care about what peoples status is, and if I did, I would call and ask them.  I know people who have broken down and gotten it, but don’t count me in that group….until now. (not really)

Now, I am still not going to get it, but I can see why Rodney Bradford is hecka happy he has it….

Hit me up at Facebook and Twitter and friend me and follow me! I might need you as an alibi!

New York teen proven innocent by Facebook

(AFP) – 2 hours ago

NEW YORK — A New York teenager narrowly avoided a 25-year jail term for armed robbery thanks to a Facebook status update he posted about pancakes, his lawyer told AFP Thursday.

I just hope he wasn’t eating these pancakes….

Plus, I am a Cowboy fan....

Rodney Bradford was held by police for 13 days, accused of breaking into a Brooklyn residence, but was able to corroborate his alibi thanks a posting to his Facebook page that showed what he was doing at the time of the crime.

As an addendum, the Post talks about the time spent.

“They had me on Rikers Island for 12 days. It was really miserable,” Bradford told The Post last night.

“If it wasn’t for Facebook I’d still be on Rikers Island.”

Rikers Island....This would be the wrong place to ask for syrup

His joyful stepmom, Ernestine Bradford, agreed, saying. “Facebook saved my son,” she said. “Normally, we yell at our kids, ‘Oh, you’re on the computer!” It’s completely different. If it wasn’t for Facebook, my son wouldn’t be here.”

Bradford’s comment, teasing his girlfriend about not having joined him to eat pancakes and accompanied by a time-stamp, “was probably instrumental in the District Attorney’s decision to drop the charges,” his lawyer Robert Reuland said.

Bradford was accused of breaking into a sprawling 1,390-apartment complex in Brooklyn, New York with a gun, when in fact he was eight miles (13 kilometers) away at his father’s Manhattan home.

Jonah Bruno, a spokesperson for the Kings County District Attorney’s office confirmed “the case was dismissed.”

If charged and convicted, Bradford could have spent 25 years behind bars.

Reuland, who is also a celebrated crime-fiction author, said it was the first time he had come across a case in which Internet evidence had been used to disprove charges.

The popularity of social networking sites like Facebook, MySpace and Twitter have propelled them into the legal cases in recent years, but usually as evidence of a transgression.

Who knew that vanity could get you out of a 25 year sentence?  For once, I have to give Facebook dap on saving a black man’s life and preventing for his condemnation to the Prison Industrial Complex, where far too many reside currently.

One Response to “FACEBOOK proves Rodney Bradford is INNOCENT…I guess FACEBOOK isn’t totally worthless…”

  1. Just as the Facebook update exonerated the teen, email metadata contributed this week to the acquittal of two Bear Stearns hedge fund managers who were accused of fraud. http://legal-beagle.typepad.com/wrights_legal_beagle/2009/11/criminal-defense.html -Ben

Leave a Reply

