E’s song of the day

October 15, 2009

I apologize for my absence from the blog these past few days, but it’s just been one of those weeks.  I’m still on this classic rock kick for a few more days, so this morning I’ll be covering a few bands to make up for lost time.  First up: the boys of CCR.  Again, I have my personal favorites, which I’ve selected for their two songs, but a few others almost made the final two.  These include: “Have you ever seen the rain,” “Down on the corner” and “Proud Mary.”  This first one gets The Dude rocking out in his car in The Big Lebowski.  Jam one: Creedence Clearwater Revival – Bad Moon Rising.  Enjoy….

Next up is my personal favorite from CCR.  This song is also on the Forrest Gump Soundtrack.  A fantastic classic rock tune with a great little guitar riff.  Jam two: Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son.  Enjoy….

The second band today is our first Black classic rock musician featured in this segment.  He is clearly the best guitarist I’ve repped, and there’s a pretty good argument to be made that he’s the best period.  With Jimi, I tend to enjoy his more soulful works, so with that in mind here are the songs that just missed getting featured: “Purple Haze,” “Foxy,” “The wind cries Mary” and “All along the watchtower.”  I had a tough time deciding which, among the two I’ve selected, is my favorite, so I’ll just drop them both here with no further introduction.  Jam one: Jimi Hendrix – Red House.  Enjoy….

Jam two: Jimi Hendrix – Hey Joe.  Enjoy….

Third up today is another giant within the genre.  No list of classic rock is complete without a couple of tunes from this British rock powerhouse.  again, several that just missed include: “”Satisfaction,” “You can’t always get what you want” and “under my thumb.”  The two I’ve chosen are both rather iconic tunes in their own right.  THey also happen to be my two favorite Stones songs.  Jam one: The Rolling Stones – Sympathy for the Devil.  Enjoy….

Last, but certainly not least, Jam two: The Rolling Stones – Paint it Black.  Rock on….

One Response to “E’s song of the day”

  1. merylr0se said

    God DAMN that’s a lot of songs. Fortunate Son is my favorite CCR song, LOVE it

Leave a Reply

