E’s song of the day

September 24, 2009

Today was a pretty frustrating day for your boy E.  I’ve been working this job for the last 5 months or so and it’s starting to wear me down.  I was offered a promotion about 6 weeks ago and it STILL hasn’t come through yet.  Each week I ask my supervisor only to be told that it will “hopefully kick in next week.”  I’m getting a bit fed up.  It is, however, motivating me to move on with my career aspirations.  I sent in my first application today to work as a substitute teacher and I plan on sending in many more.  I’ve been doing work that’s beneath my intelligence and talents for far too long, and it’s time to make a real change.

Okay, enough of my mini rant, time for some music.  Today I’ve chosen a song from a female artist who has contributed to many movie soundtracks, but in particular, she does 8 songs for the film “Magnolia.”  People often have mixed feeling about this movie, but I think it’s fantastic.  I really enjoy movies about the lives of several people that are somehow unwittingly intertwined (when done right, they can be great stories).  This particular songstress also had a minor role in the movie “The Big Lebowski” as the girlfriend of one of the nihilists who sacrifices her toe in an attempt to squeeze out a large ransom from the big Lebowski.  Today’s jam: Aimee Mann.  Wise Up.  Enjoy….

Leave a Reply

