Vince Young steps up for Steve McNair’s kids….this is why I rep BLACK QB’s!

September 17, 2009

Vince celebrating....and the way we should celebrate hom now, even if you are a Trojan fan...

Vince celebrating....and the way we should celebrate hom now, even if you are a Trojan fan...

Vince,

All people want to hear about is your failures.  I want to big up you for your actions…It’s easy to get caught up in the day to day matters in your own personal life.  Vince, your personal life has been in the news too much.

Shirtless, sweaty with a bunch of dudes throwing back the bottle of Patron is not a good look Vince...

Shirtless, sweaty with a bunch of dudes throwing back the bottle of Patron is not a good look Vince...

Lord knows you have problems.  Remember when people thought that you were suicidal?

Dont let the stress of life and work get to you....

Don't let the stress of life and work get to you....

It was just work….and you were eating wings.  Just because you don’t have your phone, people got spooked.  This became another story that people fed on.  You might even state that it is the curse of this…

At least you got paid for this.....

At least you got paid for this.....I have it for the 360 too...

But, like any normal black man, you persevered. You are still getting paid and the racist formerly known as Kerry Collins will either say something that we get him mangled, or will just get old.  You will be a starting QB in the league again, if not for the Titans, then another team.

People are not talking about Steve McNair anymore.  (except us) We use this tragic loss of life to get advice to others, including President Obama. They should talk about him more….he did a ton to help the communities that where he lived.  Once the story died and people moved on, there was still his family to think about.  They lost a father and a provider.

Vince, if only for a day, good job stepping in…

Print and Go Back ESPN.com: NFL [Print without images]

Thursday, September 17, 2009 Young surprises McNair’s sons


ESPN.com news services For one day at least, Vince Young stepped up to try to fill the void for the late Steve McNair’s two young sons, the Tennessean reported Thursday. Young surprised 11-year-old Trenton and 5-year-old Tyler on Wednesday by showing up at their house and taking them to their school’s “Dear Dads Breakfast” at a local restaurant.

Arenas Those are my boys. I wouldn’t say it was to pay anyone back; it was just out of love. Steve would do it for me. He pretty much did it for me when I was growing up. I have a history with the boys and I want to do anything I can. I am their big brother. ” — Vince Young

“Those are my boys,” Young told the Tennessean. “I wouldn’t say it was to pay anyone back; it was just out of love. Steve would do it for me. He pretty much did it for me when I was growing up. I have a history with the boys and I want to do anything I can. I am their big brother.” Julie Dilworth, admissions director at St. Paul Christian Academy, lauded Young’s actions. “It was a great, great gesture,” Dilworth told the Tennessean. “All the kids had been talking about the dads’ breakfast and [Trenton and Tyler] were wondering what was going to happen with them. “They were thrilled … the boys came to school with huge smiles on their faces.” Young had a close relationship with Steve McNair, even before the latter was drafted by the Titans four years ago. He attended McNair’s football camps when he was young. McNair was shot and killed July 4. Besides being there for McNair’s sons, Young gave other kids at the school jerseys and autographs. “It was a surprise, and just to see the excitement on their faces, it’s a great feeling,” Young told the Tennessean. “We had a good time eating pancakes. I had an omelet. “Overall they are doing cool, doing good. Just talking to their mom, I think they are going to be all right. I am always going to be here for them, always.” McNair also had two older teenage sons.


I see you Vince and I know it was out of love. The same love he showed you coming into the league.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Just like black actors, black QB’s have to stick together. Who will be the one to reach out to Nate Davis?


Toungue in, you are not Jordan...

Tongue in, you are not Jordan...

One Response to “Vince Young steps up for Steve McNair’s kids….this is why I rep BLACK QB’s!”

  1. An admirable thing to do by Young . Afterall McNair was more than a mentor to him ! He became if anything something of a surrogate father figure to him.

    A great trait and something it’s hoped that Young will pass on to others under his wing.

    Dropped this baseball piece.

    Well How Did Things Work Out For Your Team This Baseball Season ?

    Alan Parkins

Leave a Reply

