Lamar Odom, Booty Calls and Jimmy V: They always come back begging for more…

July 18, 2009

Jimmy Valvano, thanks for the words of inspiration

Jimmy Valvano, thanks for the words of inspiration

On Wednesday, while I was driving to work, ESPNRadio, along with the rest of the ESPN family had the Jimmy V day, a day marked to stomp out cancer.  While I wanted to hear some sports updates, the cause is a great one.  The Too Old family has had a few family members and friends who had had a variety of cancers, so finding a cure is right behind world peace on my list of things to hope and wish for.  Unlike World Peace, I actually donated 10 dollars to the cause.

Look at Jimmy V running to try to hug someone…

Because of the donation, they continue to hit me up for money.  I really don’t mind, since I can tell them NO, or not answer the phone.  I should have expected this since the motto that Jimmy Valvano made famous is “Don’t give up, Don’t ever give up…”

This motto is one that we can apply to life as well.  When you are in a streak of striking out, that should be a sign that you need to re-double your efforts and work your way out of the slump.  Some of our crew need to remember this extremly valuable lesson.

It happens to all of us...

It happens to all of us...just get back on the horse.

When I was in college, there was this chick named Sarah that I met at the Country Bar in town. (long story short, I wanted to have drinks with some buddies and the bar was close to the hotel…)  Once we starting hooking up,  she would beg me to come by late nights and spend the night.  The desparation routine wore thin, and I stopped coming over as much.  The begging and desparation made her less attractive to me, even though she was very attrractive.

We are starting to see the same thing in Lamar Odom.  On WCLBasketball, I wrote an open letter to Lamar Odom telling him he should fire his agent. It seems as though he is listening to my advice.

I have learned that Lamar Odom had a phone conversation with Lakers owner Jerry Buss on Thursday. I am told the purpose of the call was to rebuild any bridges that Odom’s agent, Jeff Schwartz may have burned by not responding to the Lakers offer of 3-years $30 million, and 4-years for $36 million. CBS

Sometimes, attempting to play hard to get is the last thing that people want to hear and see.  Sometimes, the go-getters actually go and get what they are wanting.  With Sarah, it made me freeze her out. Later, I understood what I was loosing and made a power play move to get back in.  I did, but it wasn’t the same.  Before, it was on lock.  After, I was the one having to do some begging.  It looks like Lamar is doing the same thing…

Just think TLC, aint to proud to beg....

Just think TLC, ain't to proud to beg....

Agents are working for you, just like a good wingman.  Most of the time, the agent or wingman has great advice for you.  You should follow the advice, since you should be on the same page, trying to get and keeping your eyes on the prize.  For Lamar, it should be about 1) Winning 2)Family 3)Getting Paid.  You have made a grip of loot, you are paid in full.

The issue is when you start really feeling yourself and you begin to believe all the press clippings.  Or, you get all introspective and moody and emo, thinking about nobody loves you or respects you or your game.  I HATE IT WHEN PEOPLE I KNOW GET LIKE THIS.  Snap OUT of it, I would tell them.

Dont get all EMO on me... Jason is enough...

Don't get all EMO on me... Jason is enough...

So, Lamar, we respect you.  You have unlimited game.  You were a key cog in the championship last year.  Just get the freaking deal signed!

So, instead of being all emo and silent, get out there and BEG!  or at least throw your game so the other person knows you are interested.  Lamar, good job in taking the first step.  Now, if you just fire your agent, you can keep his 4 percent!

One Response to “Lamar Odom, Booty Calls and Jimmy V: They always come back begging for more…”

  1. Baseballbriefs.com tracking back Lamar Odom, Booty Calls and Jimmy V: They always come back begging for more……

    Baseballbriefs.com tracking back Lamar Odom, Booty Calls and Jimmy V: They always come back begging for more……

Leave a Reply

