E’s song of the day

July 10, 2009

Dawn: when men of reason go to bed.

                      – Ambrose Bierce

Good morning out there readers/listeners!  I have a little bit of a break on the grind, and I thought I might hit you off with a tasty jam nice and early so that, when you wake up, you’ll have a tune to start your morning right.  This song is one I often use as a nice calming way to initroduce myself to the morning.  Of course, working nights recently, I haven’t had a lot of interaction with the morning, other than racing the sun home when I get off at 5.  I’ve already played my favorite morning jam (Great Lake Swimmers – Your Rocky Spine) for you in a previous segment of this series, but this jam is literally the next one on that same “wake-up” playlist.  I suppose this also might fall under the category of “groups you may not have heard of.”  From the third solo album of Animal Collective member Noah Lennox (aka Panda Bear) comes this delightful opening track.  The album, Person Pitch, was voted by a couple of reputable online music sites as the best of 2007.  I’m not well-researched enough to definitively co-sign on that vote, but I will say that I’ve had the album for a little over a year now and it still gets some decent playtime on the ol’ i-pod now and then.  Today’s jam: Panda Bear – Comfy in Nautica.   Enjoy your morning….

Leave a Reply

