E’s 4th of July Weekend Country Countdown – pt. 16

July 6, 2009

The top 20….holy shit.  I’ve decided to split this into two segments so that you get a full feel for each batch of songs.  These are truly the best of the best, people.  Enjoy….

20. Waylon Jennings  and Willie Nelson – Mama’s don’t let your babies grow up to be cowboys. Do I really  need to explain this one?  Classic Waylon and Willie, two old school pioneers of the trade doing the thing right.

19. Clint Black – Like the rain. Lord knows I’ve felt like Clint in this song more than once.  Heck, I could use that feeling again…

Truly a masterfull country music song.  My favortie piece from a mega-star of teh biz.

18. Kenny Rogers – The Gambler. Your quintisential country jam.  It should be no surprise that this lesson in life from the perspective of a card player finds its way to the top 20.  What ind of asshole doesn’t appreciate this song?

17. Deana Carter – Strawberry Wine. Another personal fave and a perfect jam for this July countdown.  Let me give you a few key arguments here.  Women love this song.  I love women.  You can do the rest of the math on your own.  Really though, a great, gredat song.

16. Reba McEntire and brooks & Dunn – If you see him / if you see her. I believe I mentioned that I really enjoy those male/female country duets.  Well, this is one of the best.  A collaboration of major country stars, this, another of those songs about loving carrying on in spite of a breakup.

15. Garth Brooks – The River. Homeboy can really spin a yarn, can’t he?  ANother brilliant piece of music wotj beautiully crafted lyrics.  This man is a legend of the genre and this song is a ture inspiration.

14. Tim McGraw – My Best Friend. My favorite song from the man who is probably my favorite country artist.  Not quite at the top because a few classics remain untapped, but still, a fan-fucking-tastic song.

13. Keith Whitley and Alison Krauss -When you say nothing at all. THis is bottom line one of my faovrite jams of all time.  Again, an ex-girlfriend used to love this song, and it stuck with me.  from the Notting Hill soundtrack, perfect.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

12. David Lee Murphy – Dust on the Bottom. Oh Jeebus, what a country classic.  Almost at the top ten, and althoug htheis artist only has one jam ni the top 200l placing in the top 15 ain’t too bad.  I fucking lovethis song.

11. Tammy Wynette – Stand by your man. The ultimate classic female country ballad.  Not a bad suggestion either…


Leave a Reply

