E’s 4th of July Weekend Country Countdown – pt. 14

July 5, 2009

I tried oh-so-desperately hard to get this all done by midnight, but, alas, I am now confronted with reality: it just ain’t gonna happen.  Still, I hope to get this post, taking us to the top 40, by day’s end.  This list is really beginning to shape up into a group of real country classics and my personal favorites.  I think the top 60 would be one hell of a country playlist.  Enjoy….

60. Dolly Parton – I will always love you. Obvi.  Still not my absolute favorite Dolly (yes, one more to come, higher up) but a classic.  Say “thank you” Whitney…

59. Dixie Chicks – Without you. More classic Dixie Chicks.  this is one of the more melancholy of their jams, but they approach it with a soothing softness to the tune.  Very well done, indeed.

58. Alan Jackson – Chattahoochee. Fun, fast, down-home country music.  Classic Alan Jackson, and a great uptempo jam to balance the two heavy love jams on either side.

57. Faith Hill – Breathe. My favorite Faith.  Simple, soft, and sweet.

56. Clint Black – Desperado. Clint has a couple of dynamo jams in the top 60.  First, this tale of a cowboy.  A great, great song.  I’m not a huge Eagles fan, so this version might be my favorite.

55. Tim McGraw – Don’t take the girl. I’ve got a soft-spot for this classic McGraw tale of a boy turned man and his evolving feelings for the woman he loves.  A real sweet tale and a very touching song.

54. George Strait – Oceanfront Property. Last Strait on the list, but quite a collection of hits it’s been.  This is my personal favorite from this GIANT of the country charts.

53. Ty Herndon – It must be love. This is a jam who’s album I own.  It got a special boost up the list because it’s a personal favorite.  Nothing like a nice positive tale of early love.

52. Tracy Byrd – Put your hand in mine. Again, a sentimental favorite of mine.  I own the album and this was one of my favortie county songs right when I first started learning the genre.

51. Rascal Flatts – Bless the broken road. More great Rascal Flatts, and no real surprise hear.  This is a big fan favorite and one that I thoroughly enjoy as well.

50. Garth Brooks – Friends in low places. Alright country fans, calm down.  This song is traditionaly right at the top of every fan-generated countdown.  However, this isn’t a collection of fans, it’s just me.  It’s a great song, and thus deserving of this top 50 placement, but it isn’t my favorite Brooks (hell, not even top 3) so this is where it falls.

49. Pam Tillis – Maybe it was Memphis. The better of two songs on this countdown with “Memphis” in te title.  What a great love song from one hell of  a songstress.  I love this jam.

48. Loretta Lynn – Coal miner’s daughter. Ok folks, now we’re really getting to some titanic country classics.  I don’t think I need to say much more about this one.

47.  Alabama – Song of the South. The last song on the countdown from Bama, and oh what a country jam.  I’m sure you’ve all heard it before, so…

46. Garth Brooks – Unanswered prayers. This, for example, is a song I like more than Friends in Low Places.  This is a great jam to help people get over a tough break-up and move on with their lives.  The next hot action is right around the corner people…

45. Kenny Chesney – How forever feels. Last Chesney on the countdown, but he sprinkled ove r a half-dozen jams throughout the top 200.  A pretty respectable showing for Mr. Clean.  This one is my personal favorite of his.

44. Brooks and Dunn – Neon Moon. One of the last two B&D jams on the countdown.  This one is awesome.  I can’t help but sing along loud and obnoxiously (not that the song is obnoxious) everytime I hear it.  That’s as good enough a justification for its placement here as any.

43. Martina McBride – Independence Day. I tried very hard to get this one in still on the fourth.  We’ll see if I make it.  Fantastic song.  Perfect for the holiday.

42. Sammy Kershaw – She don’t know she’s beautiful. A one-hit wonder on this list but a song I just can’t shake out of my head everytime I hear it on the radio.  Classic, for me.

41. Dixie Chicks – There’s your trouble. Not quite the last for these chicks, but close.  Another monster hit on the charts and radio waves, and one of my favorite jams.


Leave a Reply

