E’s 4th of July Weekend Country Countdown

July 3, 2009

I may have mentioned this before, but I am a fan of country music.  It wasn’t a case of love at first listen.  It took us some time to get to know one another, but I’m happy to say that Country Music and I have sustained a healthy relationship for the last decade or so.  I graduated from high school ten years ago this June, and in the summer of ’99 started listening to more country music.  I had the particular good fortune that year to have the bay area country radio station playing a countdown of the top 400 country songs, as voted by YOU, the listener.  It was called “The Firecracker 400” and it ran on a loop over the extended 4th of July holiday weekend.  Exactly ten years later, I bring you “E’s 4th of July Weekend Country Countdown” – my top 200 country songs of all-time (or at least, a rough ordering of 200 country songs that I recall liking to some degree over the last ten years).  For some, this will be a welcome collection of tunes.  For others, I hope that this can become an opportunity for you to find some solid jamsthat you might never have otherwise heard.  I will be posting videos and/or links to songs counting down from 200 starting now and throughout this weekend.  Enjoy….

200. Jimmy Buffet – Margaritaville. I waiver on whether I think this is actually “country music” which is the reason it holds this last spot on the list.  In terms of overall song quality, I will unequivically state that it would be significantly higher on the list.  I do, however, enjoy having it here to open things up.  What a perfect song to kick off 4th of July weekend.

199. Toby Keith – I love this bar. Fun and light; everyone loves a good drinking song.  The first of nine Keith jams in this list (though none crack the top 50).

198. Lonestar – You don’t know what love is. Again, another case of a group with a multitude of entries (7) on this countdown (including some top 50 jams).

197. George Strait – True. A true pioneer of the modern country music game.  Strait is another 7-song performer on the list.  So, I guess that this is my 7th-favorite Strait song.

196. Keith Urban – Where the blacktop ends. Yet another multiple-submission artist.  This is just one of those fun, feel-good tunes.

195. Kenny Chesney – She thinks my tractor’s sexy. Bordering on a little too country for me (don’t worry – no songs on this countdown about 9/11) but still a fun jam from a big-time country artist.  His first of 8 on this countdown.

194. Brad Paisley – I’m still a guy. A jam by another big country star.  This one’s getting a fair amount of radio-play in the status quo.

193. Montgomery Gentry – One in every crowd. I must have decided I wanted to stick some of the more spirited jams at the start, to get you going.  These guys have a few tracks on this list.  This one is probably their most current.

192. Alabama ft. NSYNC – God must have spent a little more time on you. This one was a fun collab between a country music GIANT and an up and coming pop sensation.  Obviously, Bama has several tracks on this countdown.  This one is kinda just the fluff piece to open things up.

191. Little Texas – God blessed Texas. I am, admittedly, not the hugest fan of the state of Texas.  As such, this classic tune can only barely make it into my countdown.  I must recognize it’s popular acclaim within the genre and give it it’s due, but this is as far up the list as I could muster. (no video here either.  deal.)

Little Texas – God Blessed Texas

The first ten for now.  Another ten in a few hours.  Enjoy….

One Response to “E’s 4th of July Weekend Country Countdown”

  1. Ronin Storm said

    Coming from someone who lived with a Parrot Head for 3 years. 1 vote for…Jimmy Buffet is not country music.

Leave a Reply

