E’s song of the day

June 22, 2009

You cant really say Lets Go Oakland better than this

You can't really say "Let's Go Oakland" better than this

Oh Jeebus, where did the time go?  I can’t believe I’ve missed two days in a row; the job must really be grinding me hard.  I only got about 3.5 hours of sleep last night, and I’ve already put in my 8 hours for today so I may come off a bit incoherent, and I apologize.  I’m gearing up for another A’s-Giants series, this time on my side of the bay, beginning tonight.  All you bay area baseball fans, get out to the coliseum and show your support!  Since I’ve been bad about posting, you’ll be getting a 3-song extravaganza today.  The first is from one of my all-time favorite hip-hop crews, hailing from the Oakland area.  I love a tone of their work, so this was a very dificult choice, but I decided on this smooth little track featuring super-hot R&B songstress Goapele.  Jam one: hieroglyphics ft. Goapele – Make Your Move.  Enjoy….

This second track is one I’ve had sitting on my list for quite some time.  It’s one of those classic early 90’s jams that drifted into semi-obscurity (at least, I don’t seem to hear it on the radio anymore) but deserves a comeback.  I’ve always thought somebody should try to sing it on American Idol because it has that message of positivity through love that is easy to get behind.  Jam two – Blessid Union of Souls – I Believe.  Enjoy….

Ahhhh, that song always leaves me feeling a bit better.  Now, to finish the day off with some new funk that I’m actively pushing to everyone I know.  I was listening to a talk radio show on KMEL (a local hip hop station) and a woman was big-upping this dude.  I decided to check him out and, after a couple runs through his two albums, I must say I’m really feeling his music.  Born and raised in the violent streets of Mogadishu, he brings a unique style and perspective to the hip-hop game.  Last jam: K’Naan – Smile.  Enjoy….

3 Responses to “E’s song of the day”

  1. Ronin Storm said

    ABC’s with my boy ChubbRock is tight. Thought you would have picked that one. But I can’t figure K’naan out. Seems like he is a bit confused like most foreigners. Needs to decide if he is gonna be angry or peaceful. Once he decides I think I’ll be able to appreciate his music more. Especially if he picks peaceful. East Africa needs that voice now more than ever.
    Thanx for reminding me b/c I wanted to listen to his new album.

  2. merylr0se said

    I HATE Alyssa Milano. I am very disappointed in your picture choice sir.

  3. guenivere said

    Thank you for spinning “I Believe.” Totally LOVED that song back in the day. Perfect time to hear such a positive song too…

Leave a Reply

