E’s song of the day

June 13, 2009

Just got off the grind.  Tired as all hell.  Gotta go back tomorrow early afternoon.  My plan is to get drunk tonight.  I apologize for the bluntness of this post thus far, but I’m feeling a bit detached from reality already (hence the near-monosyllabic, clipped sentences).  Tonight I’ve chosen an absolute classic.  I gave you a brief hiatus from that R&B flavor I’m notorious for, but it’s time to get things back to basics.  Following my most recent trend of classic old school (or, at a minimum, old school for your boy E), today’s jam is a perfect song for a little weekend loving.  The whole Holland-Phillips crew (my dad’s side of the family) are huge fans of these fellas.  Tony! Toni! Tone! – (Lay Your Head On My) Pillow.  Go see about a nut….

(Unbelievably, I couldn’t find a single video of this GREAT song.  They had Raphael Saadiq performing it live by himself, but I found that unacceptable.   I struggled with just providing the link to freenapster.com or supplying a video for a different song, say, “All I Ask Of You” “Anniversary” or maybe “It Never Rains in Southern California,” but ultimately decided that my original choice was on point.  So, sorry there’s no video but the jam is pure gold; go handle your business.)

Tony! Toni! Tone! – Lay Your Head On My Pillow

2 Responses to “E’s song of the day”

  1. grammaticalchaos said

    tight beat, hadn’t heard it in awhile

  2. merylr0se said

    I remember playing that album ALL the time, my vote would be for “If I Had No Loot.” Have you heard Raphael Saadiq’s latest album? It’s AMAZING. Nice shout out to the Hollips 🙂

Leave a Reply

