E’s song of the day

May 29, 2009

I watched the season finale of The Unit last night (yes, I finally caught up, only to discover that the show has been cancelled.  Thanks for getting me hooked, Ronin…) and this dope jam played during the final montage.  I’m actually a bit embarassed that I haven’t been watching The Unit from the beginning.  I’m a huge David Mamet hack – I own a handfull of his movies on DVD and I’ve read a few pieces of his written work.  His unique style of dialogue is fantastic.  I love that clipped, intelligent prose he spins, and his influence is obvious every time I watch The Unit.  Back to today’s jam.  I hadn’t heard of this artist before, so perhaps it will continue to fall withing my theme of playing tunes you haven’t heard yet.  Today’s jam: Sonya Kitchell – Soldier’s Lament.  Enjoy….

Leave a Reply

