Carrie Prejean was ROBBED of Miss USA!

April 21, 2009

Wow…

just looking at the title makes me feel a little queasy inside.  (Looking a the picture in the bikini makes me feel better…) But, I actually think that she was robbed, for whatever that is worth.  Give me a minute for set-up and I will explain.

Sitting on the couch enjoying the day, I was surfing the WWW and came across a story on Thisis50.com about the pageant.  I heard that there was some controversy, but at first, I didn’t care to find out what it was about.  Reading the issue made me a lot more interested…Here is the question and answer of Carrie Prejean.

Here is Perez Hilton talking about the statement.

When asked by judge Perez Hilton, an openly gay gossip blogger, whether she believed in gay marriage, Miss California, Carrie Prejean, said “We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite. And you know what, I think in my country, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised.”

Here is my take on the whole thing.  First, had she just picked the other question, she would be Miss USA.  Even Perez Hilton admits that she was the frontrunner or among the leaders.  While you can’t really put that as the reason for her loss, you can blame the judges.  Perez Hilton really has no reason to be as butthurt as he makes himself out to be.  His last statement really condemns him.  This is Miss USA, not being the President.  So, your political question then either had no place in this contest (since she isn’t going to be president, why ask her policy questions, since the position just requires her to be pretty and wave) or other ladies should get policy questions (like economic policy and Iraq questions, which they might of had, since I didn’t watch it) or at least recognized that she gave a pretty nuanced answer.

You can make fun of her for this…

“We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite.

even though we UNDERSTAND what she is trying to say.  (She even makes man/woman marriages seem strange)

And you know what, I think in my country, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised.”

That is an honest and probably heartfelt answer.  The questionable thing that she said in my eyes is that in “my country…” portion of her argument.  But, in her country (and mine) gay marriage is not legal.  There are 4 states that recognize it.  And guess what?  Her state of California is not one of them.  Californians (although the Too Old Crew voted NO on Prop 8.) voted overwhelmingly to ban the practice of gay marriage, even though Gavin Newsom was among the first that attempted to leagalize gay marriage.

If you are that old and motovated, you should get your way...

If you are that old and motovated, you should get your way...

Carrie even though out an apology to those that she might offend and an explanation about her upbringing.  That is what she thinks marriage is.  Man and Woman.  Why should we care what Miss USA thinks?

Keith Lewis, who runs the Miss California competition, tells FOXNews.com that he was “saddened” by Prejean’s statement.

“As co-director of the Miss California USA, I am personally saddened and hurt that Miss California believes marriage rights belong only to a man and a woman,” said Lewis in a statement. “I believe all religions should be able to ordain what unions they see fit. I do not believe our government should be able to discriminate against anyone and religious beliefs have no politics in the Miss California family

thanks http://www.foxnews.com/

Thanks for trying to get some airtime, Mr. Lewis.  What she is saying is not discrimination.  What if the followup is about domoestic/civil unions?  She might support that. But, taking a 10 second answer to a question may not be the best way to evaluate whether or not she is supporting discrimination.  If she had answered the question going the other way, would that have turned off the conservate set?

5 Responses to “Carrie Prejean was ROBBED of Miss USA!”

  1. sole4sail said

    Wow, you really got this one wrong.
    First off, a lot of the questions the girls were asked were decidedly more political than usual, there’s no doubt about that. Now, Prejean’s problem was that she answered so incoherently. Contestants are judged by how well they answer the question, not whether the answer is yes or no on a particular issue. It’s not a litmus-test.

  2. Steve said

    Sole4sail,

    Maybe you missed the part in the post where I said that I didn’t actually WATCH the contest, because it is no better than watching the WKC and dogs prancing with their owners/handlers.

    The answer is not incoherent, considering someone who DIDN’T WATCH THE CONTEST clearly understood what she said, and even more importantly meant.

    Considering Perez Hilton was one of the judges, I think the answer had something to do with it. He admitted as much in the interview. Plus, the quote at the end of th article shows how political correctness cost her the crown.

    HOW ARE THE TITLEHOLDERS AND RUNNERS-UP SELECTED?
    Once the finalists are named, their scores are discarded, and they begin competing anew. In the final competition, the same three areas (Interview, Swimsuit and Evening Gown) are judged. The judges’ scores in these categories are tallied and the winners are named live on the air.

    How can you tell me her answer didnt matter? It matter to the point that she was crushing everything else and even if she got KILLED in that section, she was doing well enough to finish second. So, yes, she was robbed

  3. Ronin Storm said

    Miss South Carolina’s…such as, as if, U.S. Americans…would have been a better answer. What a dummy. Why doesn’t she just add “Fu-k Obama” to her answer. Just to piss everyone else off. But the best part is who won? If I won I would be pissed. No one knows who I am. Instead this bigot might as well have won. The winner’s agent/manager should have her give up the crown just for the press.

  4. Ronin Storm said

    BTW, they are all “Miss California” sooner or later. They all move here. I’m sure the winner is not gonna move to Arkansas. She’s movin to L.A.

  5. Steve said

    Ronin,

    How can you call her a bigot when she feels how THE MAJORITY OF VOTERS IN CALIFORNIA AND IN THE UNITED STATES feel? (although let me mention again, that the Too Old crew voted NO on Prop 8.)

    Plus, we know her name and the winner will be forgotten. Carrie is the true winner…

Leave a Reply

