E’s song of the day – Hall of Fame edition!

April 4, 2009

It’s been a hard, long day on the grind, but I’m finally done working the Santa Clara debate tournament and back at home.  Despite all of my hard work, I’ve also just received some GREAT news courtesy of ESPN: my favorite basketball player AND coach were both confirmed into the hall of fame today.  The official announcement will be made Monday, but Utah Jazz greats John Stockton and Jerry Sloan are hall of famers!!!  Stockton was obviously a no-brainer first-ballot candidate.  He is the NBA all-time leader in both assists and steals.  I used to have this dope John Stockton poster that listed his bananas numbers around the border with the caption “Just did it” accompanied by the classic Nike swoosh.   Sloan is another great choice.  Certainly the best coach in the history of the NBA without a ring (which I only hope can change sometime in the next few years) and well-deserving of all the accolades.  You can’t really find a discussion of great coaches in the league today that doesn’t include Sloan’s name.  A great day for hoops and a great day for Utah Jazz basketball.  I only wish Larry Miller could have lived a few more months to see it happen.

Ok, now for a tune to go with the day.  I hadn’t really had anything in particular planned to accompany this good news, so I had to make an adjustment on the fly.  It may not be the MOST apropos jam for the situation, but it’ll be pretty damn good on the fly.  It doesn’t really have anything to do with Utah basketball, but it is one of my all-time favorite rap songs from a Cali rap legend and it expresses that feel-good attitude I’m experiencing.  I remember we used to crank this jam back in the day and you know I still love bumping it hard in my whip.  IT also continues along my goal of still mixing in some absolute rap classics.  Today’s jam: Ice Cube – Today Was a Good Day.  Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

