E’s song of the day

March 25, 2009

I’ve been a huge REM fan ever since I was a little kid.  I remember being fairly young hanging out at my Dad’s ex-girlfriend’s spot and watching them perform “Losing My Religion” on Saturday Night Live.  Shortly thereafter I began to acquire their albums.  I still think that my favorite is “Automatic for the People.”  Members of the debate community like to talk about how Michael Stipe is a former debater and how his song “It’s the End of the World as we Know it (and I feel fine)” is about policy debate (see the wikipedia entry).  As an aside, a good friend of the family, Stephan Pastis, creator of the comic strip “Pearls Before Swine,” also makes reference to this song in a strip in which Rat and Pig are rocking out to the jam, though the only words they know are “Leonard Bernstein.”  But I digress.   I chose today’s song for a couple of reasons.  First, I really enjoy the music video.  Second, I was watching “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” for the umpteenth time and was, again, struck by how much I enjoy the Hawaiian-themed covers of rock songs.  Today’s jam was one such cover, though I will be hitting you off with the original.  A great tune, with some important life lessons to boot. Today’s jam: REM – Everybody Hurts.  Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

