Why I hate Facebook

March 10, 2009

I just don’t really want it.

Now I know that a lot of you readers have facebook.  That is fine.  It really isn’t for me.  One of my buddies who is a tech luddite recently got it and he loves it it.  He tells me about all the people that he has managed to catch up with that he has lost contact with over the years.

I like catching up with random people as well, but there are other ways to do it.  I am catching up with some people with LinkedIn, a professional social networking site.

This is another reason to not use Facebook.  It can get you fired…no, not just using facebook at work and being unproductive, but posting on it can get you fired for the things that you say…

Facebook post gets worker fired


A Facebook post criticizing his employer, the Philadelphia Eagles, cost a stadium operations worker his job, according to a story in Monday’s Philadelphia Inquirer.

Dan Leone, who the Inquirer said worked as a west gate chief, was unhappy the team let Brian Dawkins sign with the Denver Broncos in free agency. According to the newspaper, Leone posted the following on his Facebook page: “Dan is [expletive] devastated about Dawkins signing with Denver … Dam Eagles R Retarted!!”

I was listening to Little Brother on the way home last night and a line that Phonte’ uttered was so on-point that I had to repeat it here.  He said, “We are growing a nation of illiterates, using 3 for e and Z’s for S…” and it’s true.  Texting has made us lazy and stupid.  Before cell phones, you had to remember all the phone numbers of people that you wanted to call.  Now, you just have the last call list, or you have a Contact list where you store all the information.  Now, all I can remember is my work number, my home number, three or four friends and that is it… Maybe he can blame or sue his cell phone company for making him illiterate and getting fired.

Despite deleting the comment, Leone told the Inquirer the Eagles fired him by phone days later. “I shouldn’t have put it up there,” Leone said, according to the Inquirer. “I was ticked off, and I let my emotions go, but I didn’t offend any one person or target a specific individual. I was just upset that we lost such a great guy. Dawkins was one of my favorite players. I made a mistake.” Leone said he was shocked to lose his job of six years.

Some things you just can’t come back from.  This seems like one of the things that you should have been able to apologize for and just move on from it.  But, in some limited cases, all the apologies in the world will not let you come back from where you were.  It seems like it is working for Chris Brown, why not this guy? All he did was say that the Eagles were retarded and Chris Brown whaled off and did his best Ike Turner impersonation on Rihanna. He gave a half hearted apology and Rihanna is taking him back.

Here is the best I have ever seen her look.  Maybe becuase Chris kept the pimp hand strong...just sayin

Here is the best I have ever seen her look. Maybe becuase Chris kept the pimp hand strong...just sayin'

“I apologized for it,” Leone said, according to the paper. “I apologized 20 million times. I never bad-mouthed the organization before. I made one mistake and they terminate me? And they couldn’t even bring me into the office to talk to me? They had to do it over the phone? At least look me in the eye. To get done dirty like this, I can’t believe it. I’m devastated.” The Eagles confirmed that Leone was a part-time staff member, but didn’t comment further.

They punked this dude by not calling him in for the firing.  They were like, “We will mail the check, you do not have to come in to pick it up… you are fired..and have a nice day.”

What more would the Eagles really have to say to the guy?  His voice was heard by few, even if he had a bunch of friends.  Firing him sends a much bigger signal that you are the organization that doesn’t have a heart.  But, we knew that already based on their pelting Santa Claus with snowballs or this creative picture…

A Picture is truly worth a thousand words...

A Picture is truly worth a thousand words...

2 Responses to “Why I hate Facebook”

  1. Erik said

    That laziness thing is definitely true. Our conversation a couple of days ago proved how little we actually retain of others’ phone numbers now that we have the “address book” function in all cell phones (I only know your number and my parents’ lines).

    On the Facebook tip, the biggest problem has been the infusion of hella random fools. Facebook used to be the shit back when you had to have a valid college email address to sign up. Then they opened it up to everyone, saturated it with a bunch of stupid applications/programs, and let advertising take over. Now it’s just all about how you manage it. If aren’t a Moron (like the dude in the photo) you can use facebook for all of the positive things mentioned by your luddite friend. Jason and I also rep facebook as a good tool for spitting game (step your shit up Ronin!!). But the biggest problem is that there are too many dumbasses who don’t think before posting shit. High school students who post photos of them getting loaded (when they know that teachers are on facebook too) or racist UT football players saying some ridiculous shit about the President.
    Just being smart solves most of your objections to the site, but beware, it can become an object of obsession (just look at our boy NCP and his new love of everything facebook). Moderated, intelligent use solves all disads and captures the advantages of Facebook (god dam, I sound too much like a debater there).

  2. Ronin Storm said

    They should have fired him through his Facebook page. It would have been the first time the site was ever used constructively.
    J.K. but I think its over. Facebook is done. Kaput. Just as an optimistic economic outlook is a Bearish signal not Bullish. Facebook’s fat lady is in the dressing room.
    I’ve seen it before with Myspace. Remember that was the shisss-nit? Right? Why did this happen? Whats the difference between the two? There isn’t any. These sites are just a popularity contest between Hipsters and want to be Hipsters. That is…What & Who is on the COOLEST website? Like Eric says “the infusion of hella random fools”. It’s over. buddy. Sell…Sell…Sell. I got friends at myspace that don’t even want email sent to myspace instead to Facebook.? What??? How does this make sense? Its just an email, right? No it’s more than that. It’s hey I’m with the “Cool Kids”. Facebook is the new “IN” site. That’s all. Facebook is more about participation and membership than content and experience. So relax all Facebookers, take a seat and watch it collapse.
    This is what no one seems to get including the Dork that created the site. Plus this Loser thinks that he will also be the person that brings the Co. to profitability. Like that will happen. Post Rockefeller it has happened maybe 2X.
    As for spitting game. I’m not gonna hate, but If I really wanted to impress someone these days I would go low tech not high tech. Send snail mail instead of text mail. Send flowers instead of a, how do you call it on Facebook, a “Nudge”. Or is it a “Poke”? A POKE??? I’m done I rest my case on “POKE”.

Leave a Reply

