E’s song of the day

March 10, 2009

Yes folks, after a several day hiatus, I’m back!  My computer had some nasty virus (yes, AGAIN!) that prevented it from even booting up Windows, so I had to reformat, reinstall Windows, then reinstall the drivers.  Needless to say this process took much longer than I had hoped for.  I’ve thought about how to make ammends for my absence ,and, luckily for you, I’ve been saving some gems on a list (songs I would have selected had I been able to access the internet), so today I’ll break you off with a couple of choice tracks.  The first song is some relatively new ish.  As I’m sure you’re aware, the Too Old Crew falls firmly on 50’s side in his little dispute with Rick Ross (Officer Riiii-ccccky!). Steve is constantly playing me little clips from thisis50.com to keep me abreast of all the new shit-talking going down.  This first jam is a hot collab between 3 phenomenal hip-hop artists.  I also like the connection that they all share (Dre got Eminem started and he, in turn, jump-started 50’s career).  The first jam for today: Eminem, Dr. Dre and 50 Cent – Crack a Bottle.  Enjoy…

While I was listening to various versions of the above song to get the best video that I could find, there was something too familiar about the backbeat.  Then I realized I had certainly heard it before in another favorite hip-hop track.  From the album “Wu-Tang vs. Indie Culture” (a great disc, btw) comes this hot little collab from Del tha Funky Homosapienand Aesop Rock.  I’ve played you a bit of Aesop before, but find it shameful that I haven’t hit you off with any Del (given that he is BAY AREA!!!).  So, as a special treat, I thought I’d include this track for you to compare with “Crack a Bottle.”  The second jam: Aesop Rock  & Del – Preservation.  Enjoy…

Given the spontaneous add of the previous song, I suppose I can still break you off with one last jam to fill the hole left by my technical difficulties.  Let’s mix it up a bit and transition from hip-hop to a little mid-nineties alternative pop-rock.  This group came out with a few hits in the early to mid-nineties, and this particular song caught my attention quite randomly.  I picked up this Wherehouse Music sample CD back around 1994, and it just happened to have this single on it.  It was one of the only tracks worth listening to on the sampler so it got a decent amount of stereo play-time.  I think you’ll enjoy it too.  The last song  for today: Luscious Jackson – Citysong.  Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

