Racism is still alive in America…Woman refuses to rent to Blacks

March 3, 2009

One of the reasons that I chose social studies instead of English to get my credential in is that I can’t speak English, so why would I want to teach it…? While you take a minute to soak that one up ( I actully passed all the preliminary examinations for acceptance) I did it because I like History, especially US History.

Working now makes me a little sad, as I teach World History.  But, teaching World History teaches me that ignorance and racism are everyone, not just centrally located in the States.

This use to pass for humor and an accurate caricature of Blacks in America

The problem becomes when re get overly sensitive and look for racism in everything that we do or see.  Race is a problem… Just look at the comments of other stories that deal with race here like this one…

It makes the charge of racism ring hollow when people argue and call this photo racist and make this comparative assessment.

because of course, all blacks like the white meat...

because of course, all blacks like the white meat...

But, this IS RACIST, and will always be racist.

Well, that is why I will just stay at home and collect welfare...

Well, that is why I will just stay at home and collect welfare...

But, on a serious note, this type of ridiculous behavior is still happening in 2009.  Black president or not, we still have racists… The Buffalo News proves this point today…

03/03/09 06:48 AM

Falls police say woman put up racist sign

NIAGARA FALLS—Two days after a man was sentenced to probation and community service for putting up a sign as a “joke” in a public works garage that said “whites only” on a drinking fountain, city police were called to a home in the 600 block of 25th Street on Sunday to investigate another racially charged sign.

This one was clearly no joke.

No charges were filed Sunday, but police told the woman she must take down the handwritten sign on a fence on her property saying, “I rent three bedrooms [at her address to] white people Niagara Falls.”

The 53-year-old woman told police she put up the sign after someone tried to break into her house and added, “I can do what I want. I live in America,” according to a police report.

Police said they received complaints and she must take the sign down. An officer at the scene said the woman agreed to take down the sign under protest. The officer said the woman already had seven more signs she was planning to hang up.

Yes, lady, you are right, this is America.  But its 2009 and not 1909, where that would be the sign of the times.  The funny thing is that she has seven more signs that she wanted to put up.  I wonder what they would have said, if we gave her total and complete freedom of expression?

Dont get it twisted, if you are high yella or light skinned, you are still a nigger to me...

Don't get it twisted, if you are high yella or light skinned, you are still a nigger to me...

4 Responses to “Racism is still alive in America…Woman refuses to rent to Blacks”

  1. Ronin Storm said

    Could Kenneth from 30 Rock…No, sorry I mean, Bobby Jindal rent a room from grandma racist?

  2. Ronin Storm said

    Oh yeah, I was 1st. baby.

  3. ctid1369 said

    ahaha steve great story but what I love even more is your choice of the WWI propaganda poster and how vouge did a little remake of it. The even better part was I just saw the same propaganda poster in my US History class last week. Hope all is well with ya.

Leave a Reply

