E’s song of the day- Fat Tuesday edition

February 24, 2009

Another year, another Mardi Gras that we aren’t a part of, and I’m running out of excuses for not being there (I do, after all, have friends who live in New Orleans).  I will have to substitute by dropping a Mardi Gras tune to help get you in that celebratory spirit.  Having never been, I was a bit unsure of what makes a tune “Mardi Gras music.”  Enter my trusty friend, the search engine.  I found this website that lists the top 40 Mardi Gras songs, and from there I was able to select a song that I both knew and enjoy.  Admittedly, I had to move down the list a bit to arrive at said song, but I knew as soon as I saw the name that it was meant for E’s song of the day.  This jam (and the video selected for it) plays during the opening credits of one of my all-time favorite movies.  While the exact origins are unknown, it has its roots in early 20th century gospel (suprisingly, like a bunch of other African-American music, it was hijacked by Elvis in the 50’s and thrown onto a 45) and, according to Wikipedia, it is a common tune at funerals and dirges in New Orleans.  I listened to the Elvis version and was wholly unimpressed.  This version is oodles (yeah,  I said it) better.  Today’s jam: Venice Beach Boys – Just a closer walk with thee. Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

