E’s song of the day

February 13, 2009

I can’t really remember what inspired me to choose today’s song, but sometime last night I decided that I really wanted to pick some Slick Rick for you today.  Slick Rick is probably most famous for his song “Children’s Story,” but we’ve all heard that jam a million times.  I thought for a bit about hitting you off with a little “Hey Young World” – another fabulous jam, but also perhaps a bit too overplayed.  No, today’s selection of Rick the Ruler required a bit more finesse on my part.  I had to dig a little deeper into the vault of musical knowledge that is my dome and slide you a filthy little track off of Rick’s 1999 album “The Art of Storytelling.”  This jam features both Rick’s smooth lyrical web-weaving as well as his ability to deliver an important message with his rhymes.  Today’s jam: Slick Rick – 2 Way Street.  Enjoy…

Slick Rick – 2 Way Street

Leave a Reply

