President Obama and Spiderman fighting crime

January 12, 2009

You are going to need a superhero effort to fight off the haters in DC!

You are going to need a superhero effort to fight off the haters in DC!

What little boy didn’t collect comics as a kid? I know I certainly do and Spiderman was one of the comics that I had to get the latest at Comix and Comix in Berkeley, CA. Included in the mix were the X-Men,

One of the first comics that I bought that was worth more than the cover

One of the first comics that I bought that was worth more than the cover

the Web of Spiderman,

My grandmother threw away at least ten of these, since I bought a bunch of them with my cousin when it came out in 1985

My grandmother threw away at least ten of these, since I bought a bunch of them with my cousin when it came out in 1985

The New Mutants

I was a sucker for offshoots of comics I already collected

I was a sucker for offshoots of comics I already collected

and others.

The fact that they are going to put Obama in a comic is hot to death and I will be getting my hands on multiple copies of this one. The Chicago Tribune talks about the comic plot.

He’s not a superhero just yet, but President-elect Barack Obama does get to fist-bump one in a new Spider-Man comic book.

In “The Amazing Spider-Man” #583, to be released Jan. 14 by Marvel Comics, Barack Obama meets Spidey when the superhero thwarts an Inauguration Day scheme perpetrated by the villainous Chameleon.

During a tense standoff, the comic book Obama tells his Secret Service agents, “This is official government business. Get the wall-crawler out of here!”

But when the Chameleon reveals himself, Obama says, “OK, I was wrong, Spider-Man. This is definitely your department.”
Spider-Man responds, “Ya hear that, Chameleon? The president-elect here just appointed me Secretary of Shuttin’ You Up!” The last line is delivered with a punch to the villain’s face.

For Marvel Comic’s Editor in Chief Joe Quesada, Obama and Spider-Man together make perfect sense.

“When we heard that President-elect Obama is a collector of Spider-Man comics, we knew that these two historic figures had to meet in our comics’ Marvel Universe,” he said in a release. “A Spider-Man fan moving into the Oval Office is an event that must be commemorated in the pages of Amazing Spider-Man.”

Obama, a comic book collector, told Entertainment Weekly last year: “I was always into the Spider-Man/Batman model. The guys who have too many powers–like Superman–that always made me think they weren’t really earning their superhero status. It’s a little too easy. Whereas Spider-Man and Batman, they have some inner turmoil. They get knocked around a little bit.”

Obama joins a long line of presidents in comics, including Ronald Reagan in the pages of “Batman: The Dark Knight Returns,” Bill Clinton in “Superman: The Man of Steel,” Richard Nixon in “Watchmen” and John F. Kennedy in “Action Comics.” In one of the stranger presidential appearances, Jimmy Carter appears on the cover of “Superman vs. Muhammad Ali.”

Previous celebrity guest stars in Spider-Man stories include Stephen Colbert, Jay Leno and John Belushi.

What isn’t there to like about the President?

One Response to “President Obama and Spiderman fighting crime”

  1. Ronin Storm said

    Oh the pain!
    How can anyone throw away comix?
    Worse than burning books.
    Just hurts.

Leave a Reply

